University Challenge results, 2014

The 43rd series, that began on July 15th 2013 and culminated with the final on April 7th 2014, once again ran on Mondays on BBC2 at 20:00. The series also premiered a new title sequence and set. It continued the 37-show format that it has used since 2010.

The series was followed on April 19th with a one-off "Champion of Champions" show between the two institutions that have won the series on four occasions: Magdalen College, Oxford and Manchester. Magdalen fielded the four captains of those teams, and Manchester chose one of the best performers from each team. See the Specials page for more details.

First round
15/07/2014Aberdeen105140Queen's, Belfast
22/07/2014St John's, Cambridge120180Reading
29/07/2014Trinity, Cambridge300150Christ Church, Oxford
05/08/2014Durham170190Queens', Cambridge
12/08/2014Loughborough155195Clare, Cambridge
19/08/2014School of Oriental & African Studies230155Southampton
26/08/2014Brasenose, Oxford105215Manchester
09/09/2014Balliol, Oxford145250Peterhouse, Cambridge
23/09/2014Pembroke, Cambridge145255Somerville, Oxford
07/10/2014St John's, Oxford115260Downing, Cambridge
Highest-scoring losers
21/10/2014Durham140245Christ Church, Oxford
Second round
04/11/2014York135240Somerville, Oxford
11/11/2014Downing, Cambridge135210Queen's, Belfast
18/11/2014Clare, Cambridge175165Christ Church, Oxford
02/12/2014Trinity, Cambridge240110Peterhouse, Cambridge
09/12/2014Manchester325110Queens', Cambridge
06/01/2014Reading90240School of Oriental & African Studies
13/01/2014Trinity, Cambridge285205Manchester
20/01/2014Cardiff90200School of Oriental & African Studies
27/01/2014Somerville, Oxford195160Clare, Cambridge
03/02/2014Queen's, Belfast90290Southampton
10/02/2014Trinity, Cambridge280105School of Oriental & African Studies
24/02/2014Somerville, Oxford21595Southampton
03/03/2014Clare, Cambridge105125Queen's, Belfast
17/03/2014School of Oriental & African Studies165145Queen's, Belfast
24/03/2014Trinity, Cambridge260175Manchester
31/03/2014Somerville, Oxford190105School of Oriental & African Studies
07/04/2014Trinity, Cambridge240135Somerville, Oxford

The series champions from Trinity College, Cambridge were Matthew Ridley (Economics), Filip Drnovsek Zorko (Natural Sciences), Ralph Morley (Classics), and Richard Freeland (Mathematics) who were presented with the trophy by Jeanette Winterson.

As ever, winners are in bold, highest-scoring losers in italics. Italicised scores indicate the result was decided by a tie-break.