University Challenge results, 2016-17

The 46th series began on 11 July 2016 and concluded with the final on April 10 2017, in its standard slot on Mondays on BBC Two at 20:00.

See also the results of Christmas University Challenge.

First round
18/07/2016Corpus Christi, Oxford200175Jesus, Cambridge
01/08/2016Queens', Cambridge150160Peterhouse, Cambridge
08/08/2016Oriel, Oxford15095Manchester
15/08/2016Emmanuel, Cambridge175135Nottingham
22/08/2016Balliol, Oxford22055Imperial, London
29/08/2016Robinson, Cambridge15595Wadham, Oxford
19/09/2016Wolfson, Cambridge185175School of Oriental & African Studies
26/09/2016Queen's, Belfast105165Birmingham
03/10/2016St Andrews175145Worcester, Oxford
10/10/2016Glasgow135150East London
Highest-scoring losers
17/10/2016Jesus, Cambridge195155Queens', Cambridge
31/10/2016Durham85270School of Oriental & African Studies
Second round
14/11/2016Birmingham195115St Andrews
21/11/2016East London55195Warwick
28/11/2016School of Oriental & African Studies130195Emmanuel, Cambridge
05/12/2016Wolfson, Cambridge225140Jesus, Cambridge
12/12/2016Robinson, Cambridge90210Balliol, Oxford
02/01/2017Bristol26570Oriel, Oxford
09/01/2017Peterhouse, Cambridge150175Corpus Christi, Oxford
16/01/2017Wolfson, Cambridge165135Balliol, Oxford
23/01/2017Bristol70250Corpus Christi, Oxford
30/01/2017Warwick90200Emmanuel, Cambridge
13/02/2017Emmanuel, Cambridge17055Corpus Christi, Oxford
27/02/2017Edinburgh195160Wolfson, Cambridge
06/03/2017Birmingham65265Balliol, Oxford
13/03/2017Warwick175205Wolfson, Cambridge
20/03/2017Corpus Christi, Oxford160240Balliol, Oxford
27/03/2017Emmanuel, Cambridge140170Wolfson, Cambridge
03/04/2017Edinburgh140215Balliol, Oxford
10/04/2017Wolfson, Cambridge140190Balliol, Oxford

The Balliol College, Oxford are Freddie Potts (History), Jacob Lloyd (English), Joey Goldman (Philosophy & Theology), Ben Pope (Astrophysics). For only the second time the trophy was awarded outside of the studio, and instead the two teams travelled to Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, where Balliol were presented with the trophy by Stephen Hawking, a fellow of the college.

This year's all-male final reanimated the press' perennial debate over women on University Challenge. I shall say nothing other than to link to 2016 champion Hannah Rose Wood's New Statesman article.

As ever, winners are in bold, highest-scoring losers in italics. Italicised scores indicate the result was decided by a tie-break.