University Challenge results, 2011

The 40th series began on July 5 2010 running on Mondays on BBC2 at 20:00 and ended with the final on April 4 2011.

As with last year, in the quarter-finals teams must win twice to progress to the semi-finals. If they lose twice then they are eliminated.

First round
05/07/2010St Andrews185190Bristol
12/07/2010Cardiff210220Oxford Brookes
19/07/2010Balliol, Oxford155190Queens', Cambridge
26/07/2010Peterhouse, Cambridge265165Exeter
02/08/2010York245105Royal College of Music
09/08/2010Newnham, Cambridge135115Southampton
16/08/2010Christ's, Cambridge29060Liverpool
23/08/2010Downing, Cambridge16095St Edmund Hall, Oxford
06/09/2010University, London155125Hertford, Oxford
13/09/2010Durham120340Magdalen, Oxford
20/09/2010Edinburgh33535Jesus, Oxford
27/09/2010Arts London21595Imperial, London
11/10/2010Merton, Oxford180175St John's, Cambridge
Highest-scoring losers
25/10/2010St Andrews165225St John's, Cambridge
Second round
01/11/2010Christ's, Cambridge220160Edinburgh
08/11/2010Oxford Brookes320100Arts London
22/11/2010Peterhouse, Cambridge215205St John's, Cambridge
30/11/2010University, London230250Sheffield
06/12/2010Downing, Cambridge125190Magdalen, Oxford
13/12/2010Merton, Oxford120175Queens', Cambridge
20/12/2010Newnham, Cambridge70275Bristol
10/01/2011Christ's, Cambridge160185Oxford Brookes
17/01/2011York120205Peterhouse, Cambridge
24/01/2011Sheffield230225Magdalen, Oxford
31/01/2011Queens', Cambridge190160Bristol
07/02/2011Oxford Brookes135265Sheffield
14/02/2011Christ's, Cambridge120330Magdalen, Oxford
21/02/2011Peterhouse, Cambridge215160Queens', Cambridge
07/03/2011Magdalen, Oxford245195Queens', Cambridge
14/03/2011Oxford Brookes190195York
28/03/2011Peterhouse, Cambridge130260Magdalen, Oxford
04/04/2011York85290Magdalen, Oxford

Winning for a record fourth time, Magdalen College, Oxford received the trophy from historian Anthony Beevor. The winning team were James McComish (History), Kyle Haddad-Fonda (Modern Middle Eastern Studies), Matthew Chan (History), and Will Cudmore (English Language and Literature). The final was unusual in that both teams had already lost a match, and Magdalen became the third series champion of the Paxman era (after Durham 2000 and Emmanuel 2010) to have lost a game along the way.

As ever, winners are in bold, highest-scoring losers in italics. Italicised scores indicate the result was decided by a tie-break.