University Challenge results, 2010

The 39th series began on July 6 2009 running on Mondays on BBC2 at 20:00, following announcements that Granada were tightening eligibility rules, evidently to avoid a repeat of last year's trial by media. The final was on April 5 2010.

For the first time since the show returned in 1994, the format has been changed. The quarter-finals will still involve eight teams, but will consist of ten shows in which the four teams that win two games progress to the semi-finals:

– All eight teams play in the first round of four games.
– The four winners from the first round play each other, with the two winners of those games progressing to the semi-finals.
– The four losers of the first round play each other, with the two losers being eliminated.
– The four remaining teams play a final round of two games, and the two winners progress to the semi-finals.

Or to put it more simply, all teams keep playing until they either win twice (in which case they go through to the semi-finals) or lose twice (in which case they're out).

First round
06/07/2009Christ's, Cambridge170200Warwick
13/07/2009Royal Veterinary College, London60235Manchester
20/07/2009Loughborough205175University, London
27/07/2009Clare, Cambridge165215Jesus, Oxford
03/08/2009Nottingham145180Girton, Cambridge
10/08/2009Edinburgh170155Central Lancashire
24/08/2009King's, London155140Cardiff
31/08/2009Newnham, Cambridge260120Sussex
07/09/2009Imperial, London175135Southampton
14/09/2009St John's, Oxford27090Durham
21/09/2009Magdalene, Cambridge135145St Hugh's, Oxford
28/09/2009York55200St George's, London
05/10/2009St Andrews255150Somerville, Oxford
12/10/2009Emmanuel, Cambridge165205Regent's Park, Oxford
Highest-scoring losers
19/10/2009University, London220145Clare, Cambridge
26/10/2009Christ's, Cambridge105280Emmanuel, Cambridge
Second round
02/11/2009Girton, Cambridge170160St George's, London
09/11/2009Newnham, Cambridge110185St Andrews
16/11/2009St John's, Oxford220190Loughborough
23/11/2009University, London185260Emmanuel, Cambridge
30/11/2009Imperial, London28080St Hugh's, Oxford
07/12/2009Jesus, Oxford200170Warwick
14/12/2009Edinburgh170150Regent's Park, Oxford
21/12/2009Manchester21090King's, London
04/01/2010St John's, Oxford28055Girton, Cambridge
11/01/2010St Andrews50195Manchester
18/01/2010Imperial, London240110Edinburgh
25/01/2010Jesus, Oxford125280Emmanuel, Cambridge
01/02/2010St John's, Oxford150140Manchester
08/02/2010Girton, Cambridge140115St Andrews
15/02/2010Imperial, London160275Emmanuel, Cambridge
22/02/2010Edinburgh195185Jesus, Oxford
15/03/2010Girton, Cambridge100200Imperial, London
22/03/2010St John's, Oxford260170Imperial, London
29/03/2010Emmanuel, Cambridge315120Manchester
05/04/2010St John's, Oxford100315Emmanuel, Cambridge

Emmanuel became the first Cambridge team to win for 15 years. They comprised Andy Hastings (Medicine), Jenny Harris (French & Latin), Alex Guttenplan (Natural Sciences) and Josh Scott (Medicine). The trophy was presented to them by poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy.