University Challenge results, 2006

The 35th series (8:30pm Monday, BBC2) began on September 19 2005, ending with the final on May 15 2006.

First round
19/09/2005St Hugh's, Oxford190240Manchester
03/10/2005Magdalen, Oxford70320Trinity Hall, Cambridge
17/10/2005St Hilda's, Oxford165130Durham
31/10/2005Lucy Cavendish, Cambridge110160Hertfordshire
14/11/2005Edinburgh110275Gonville and Caius, Cambridge
21/11/2005St John's, Oxford130165Trinity, Cambridge
28/11/2005School of Oriental & African Studies20595Christ's, Cambridge
05/12/2005Churchill, Cambridge170120York
12/12/2005London Business School170130Trinity, Oxford
19/12/2005Nottingham245135Imperial College School of Medicine, London
Highest-scoring losers
09/01/2006St John's, Oxford190125St Hugh's, Oxford
16/01/2006Imperial College School of Medicine, London205145Trinity, Oxford
Second Round
23/01/2006School of Oriental & African Studies200170Churchill, Cambridge
30/01/2006London Business School185160Nottingham
06/02/2006St John's, Oxford170175Imperial College School of Medicine, London
27/02/2006Liverpool195170Trinity, Cambridge
06/03/2006Trinity Hall, Cambridge25595Birmingham
13/03/2006Gonville and Caius, Cambridge175160Sussex
27/03/2006Manchester25545St Hilda's, Oxford
10/04/2006London Business School215145Gonville and Caius, Cambridge
10/04/2006Manchester275140Imperial College School of Medicine, London
17/04/2006School of Oriental & African Studies155225Trinity Hall, Cambridge
08/05/2006London Business School60250Manchester
08/05/2006Trinity Hall, Cambridge200140Liverpool
15/05/2006Manchester160150Trinity Hall, Cambridge

For the first time in its 44-year history the trophy will be staying in the show's home city after a close final. The victors were Chris Holmes (Materials Science), Gareth Aubrey (Nuclear Science), Joseph Meagher (Politics), and Adrian Anslow (Mathematics), and received the trophy from writer Peter Ackroyd.

Winners are given in bold, and the four highest scoring first round losers in italics. An italicised score indicates that the result was decided by a tie-break.