University Challenge results, 2020-21

The 50th series began on 13 July 2020 on Mondays on BBC Two at 20:30, concluding with the final on 5 April 2021. The first rounds were filmed in March, prior to the coronavirus restrictions, with subsequent rounds having to wait until September when filming resumed with perspex screens installed between contestants who also wore earpieces to communicate with their teammates. As a result, the rules stating that contestants must be students at their university throughout filming were also relaxed.

First round
27/07/2020Linacre, Oxford140210Open
03/08/2020Imperial, London155190Strathclyde
10/08/2020Reading50295Birkbeck, London
17/08/2020Balliol, Oxford150135Clare, Cambridge
24/08/2020Bristol135175Corpus Christi, Oxford
31/08/2020Darwin, Cambridge90255St Andrews
07/09/2020York100170King's, London
14/09/2020Merton, Oxford21040Wolfson, Cambridge
21/09/2020Royal Academy of Music, London50220St John's, Cambridge
28/09/2020Warwick255105Wolfson, Oxford
12/10/2020Magdalene, Cambridge170130University, Oxford
Highest-scoring losers
19/10/2020Imperial, London160155Exeter
26/10/2020Linacre, Oxford125155Edinburgh
Second round
02/11/2020Imperial, London18090St Andrews
16/11/2020Merton, Oxford90190Warwick
30/11/2020St John's, Cambridge155200Balliol, Oxford
07/12/2020Glasgow90175King's, London
14/12/2020Corpus Christi, Oxford115185Magdalene, Cambridge
04/01/2021Open95205Birkbeck, London
11/01/2021Magdalene, Cambridge240140Birkbeck, London
18/01/2021Balliol, Oxford14595King's, London
01/02/2021Imperial, London120200Warwick
08/02/2021Magdalene, Cambridge160200Warwick
15/02/2021King's, London95265Imperial, London
22/02/2021Balliol, Oxford17575Durham
01/03/2021Birkbeck, London105135Strathclyde
08/03/2021Imperial, London200100Durham
15/03/2021Magdalene, Cambridge185125Strathclyde
22/03/2021Imperial, London135160Warwick
29/03/2021Magdalene, Cambridge27050Balliol, Oxford
05/04/2021Warwick195140Magdalene, Cambridge

This year's winners were Warwick University, their second series championship and 14 years after their first. The winning team were Richard Pollard (History & Politics), George Braid (Physics), Andrew Rout (Maths), Owain Burrell (English Literature). Their trophy was presented (at a distance!) by the Poet Laureate, Simon Armitage.

As ever, winners are in bold, highest-scoring losers in italics. Italicised scores indicate the result was decided by a tie-break.